Smart Brain Dumps

Use brain dumps to define goals and be successful

Every year on New Year’s Eve people tell what they want to achieve in the new year, but only a few people do what they intend to do. But why? Reasons are, that the goals are too high or many goals are simply not accurately defined. Some goals are just dreams and some people find no motivation to go into the implementation phase because “it’s just a dream!”.

A brain dump can help you analyse your current life in 5 areas and you will define realistic goals that you also will achieve.

The 5 areas of life:

  • Personality Development (abilities)
  • Environment (Apartment, City)
  • Social Environment & Emotions (relationships, friends)
  • Health (nutrition, sports)
  • Finance & Career (Profession, Shares, second pillar)

What has to be done?

You should work for at least 25 minutes a day on your long-term goals if you have a full time job. The Pomodoro technique can help you achieve this. You start by creating brain dumps of the 5 areas and by that defining achievable goals. Then you sort them according to importance and start working on your goals.

How to create brain dumps?

Write each area of life on a separate page and write down everything that comes to your mind about the headline. You should not try to create all the brain dumps in one day, because you do not think about everything you want to achieve in life in this short time. Sometimes important thoughts come while being on the bus, on the toilet, going on a walk or in other completely different situations. If this should happen in your everyday life, it is important to make notes and transfer it to the existing brain dump list. To some goals belong several people, so just talk to the people with who you want to achieve goals and create brain dumps together.

A brain dump can also be a collection of keywords or other terms that come to your mind. At this point you do not have to define anything precisely. Let your thoughts run free without thinking about the phrasing of the text or the implementing of the goal. It should all be released, whether long-term dreams or seemingly unimportant trifles.

Help to produce brain dumps

If you do not generate enough brain dumps, you can read the following questions as inspiration. But do not just answer “yes” or “no”. Give yourself a reason why you chose “yes” or “no” and think about whether it could be one of your goals.

Brain dump questions for personality development

  • Do you want to improve the skills you already have?
  • Do you want to acquire new skills?
  • Do you want to play an instrument?
  • Do you want to learn a foreign language?
  • Do you want to learn how to cook?
  • Do you want to learn how to eat healthy?
  • What have you always wanted to do as a child or a teenager?
  • What have you been unable to do so far for financial reasons?
  • How do you want to organise your leisure time?

Brain dump questions for the Environment

  • Do you want to change something in your home (new TV, furniture, etc.)?
  • Do you want plants in your home?
  • Are your neighbours too loud?
  • Do you want to move to another location?
  • Do you need more space for you?
  • Do you want to live in another country?

Brain dump questions for social environment & emotions

  • Do you want to attend a class to meet other people?
  • Do you have friends who may stop you from reaching your goals?
  • Do you have little contact with your family and you want to change it?
  • Are you single and you do not want to be alone anymore?
  • Do you want to be alone, but no one gives you peace?

Brain dump questions for health

  • Do you want to stop eating sweets?
  • Do you want to know what a good diet is?
  • Do you want to eat healthy every day?
  • Do you want to start doing sports?
  • Are you interested in doing something good for your soul with meditation?
  • Do you have a stressful job and need a sporting balance?

Brain dump questions for finance/career

  • Do you need a second pillar?
  • Do you want to learn how to become more economical?
  • Are you dissatisfied with your job and you want to find a new one asap?
  • Do you have problems with a colleague and want to change the department?
  • Do you want to make more money?

Define real goals from a brain dump with S.M.A.R.T

Now you should have large lists at your disposal, on which your goals can be roughly read. And now be smart! That’s supposed to mean that your keywords and short sentences are now sub-headings. Frame texts for them according to the S.M.A.R.T concept. For example if your new sub-heading is “Learn how to draw” in the area “self-development”, then the corresponding text according to the S.M.A.R.T concept is:” By July 30th, 2017, I have completed a drawing class at the Adult Education Centre and drew 3 pictures”.

S.M.A.R.T comes from project management and means the following:

S = Specific
M = Measurable
A = Achievable
R = Relevant
T = Time-oriented

Specific

Be more specific. For example: Do not write “I want to learn a language”. Instead, write what you want and what the goal is: “I want to learn Italian to order a coffee in a foreign language” or if you have higher goals “I want to learn Italian fluently, go to Italy and marry an Italian woman”.

If you even have huge goals, create sub goals with bullet points and describe in full sentences what you want to achieve. If you want to build a house, you should start by talking to people who have already built one and others who can give you money. One possible point would be “register yourself in a forum specialising in homeowners and ask beginner’s questions” and “go to the bank and ask for a financial plan”. All these sub goals are part of a huge goal. Never forget to split huge goals in sub goals!

Measurable

If you frame a goal, it should be measurable. We still know this criterion from school. If we have built knowledge in a subject like maths of a specific topic such as geometry, we are measured with exams and tests. The mark (often) tells whether we have achieved our goals or not. For many, it is simply enough to not fail and others want to reach the best mark.

A very popular example is losing weight. If you want to lose weight without gaining muscles, you can directly measure your progress by standing regularly on a scale. The factor of time also matters, as an example: “I want to lose 22 pounds (~10 kg) in three months”.

Achievable

Your goals must be achievable. If you made your goal starting a singing career, but never sung before, you will not reach your goals (immediately). It is certainly possible to become a superstar, but the goals have to be reachable in shorter periods. It is extremely demotivating if you set up a band within a short time and are successful in your city but you think you did not have achieved anything because you are not on a music channel yet. So if you define your goals as listed below, you can better achieve your larger goals:

▢ I go to the karaoke bar every 3 days for 3 weeks, sing at least 3 songs and take feedback
▢ Until Easter, I wrote a song and sang it in public
▢ Until next October I found a new drummer for my band

Relevant

A goal must be useful to you. If it was your childhood dream to become a football player, but you have been a passionate kickboxer for years or if you are not interested in football anymore, you can strike that goal off with a clear conscience. Another good example are Nice-to-Haves, which disguise themselves as goals. If something would be simply nice to reach without added value for oneself, then strike off that goal or put it far down in the list.

Time-oriented

Each goal must have a date. As you have seen in the example above, there are temporal provisions: “Until Easter…”, “…for 3 weeks…”, etc. This declaration is one of the most important, because it also shows very well how difficult it is to reach the respective goal. For example if you write, “I want to clean my kitchen until next Thursday.” and “I want to clean a whole house with 10 rooms until next June.”, it becomes clear very quickly, that you rather want to clean the kitchen than a whole house.

In order to not just do the things that are easier to achieve, the goals will be prioritised in the following.

What is important for you?

You have now several pages with some sub-headings per area and detailed tasks. Read them all again very carefully! Focus on the things that really matter to you. Sort your lists by priority and by deadline (the most important at the top). If you have done this for all 5 areas, you need to select an area that needs a lot of attention and that you want to start with immediately.

If you are done with creating your defined goals, it can happen that you think to already have achieved something and you put the list aside for a very long time. Come as soon as possible to the implementation phase! Even if it is only the preparation for the next day, that can already be the reason to better start the day with uncomfortable tasks.

Things change in life

You have worked on your goals every day and you can be proud of it. But you should check at least every 3 months whether your goals on your lists are still the goals in your life. If you have a digital calendar, it is recommended to enter a repetitive date to read and if necessary edit your brain dumps. Things change very often in life. If it bothers you to work on your goals for a long time, check your brain dumps and see if you have to split a goal in sub-goals after all. If, however, you have not be able to develop fun for a long time, then take a long break or focus on other goals. Maybe you only have a small motivation gap.

Smart Brain Dumps

Mit Brain-Dumps Ziele definieren und erfolgreich sein

Die Leute sagen jedes Jahr an Silvester was sie im neuem Jahr alles erreichen wollen, aber nur wenige Leute machen was sie sich auch vornehmen. Doch warum? Gründe dafür sind, dass die Ziele zu hoch oder viele Ziele einfach nicht genau definiert sind. Einige Ziele sind nur Träume und einige Leute finden keine Motivation in die Umsetzungsphase zu kommen, weil „es ist ja nur ein Traum!“.

Ein Brain-Dump kann dir helfen dein aktuelles Leben in 5 Gebieten zu analysieren und du wirst realistische Ziele definieren, die du auch erreichst.

Die 5 Gebiete des Lebens:

  • Persönlichkeitsentwicklung (Fähigkeiten)
  • Umgebung (Wohnung, Stadt)
  • Soziales Umfeld & Emotionen (Beziehungen, Freunde)
  • Gesundheit (Ernährung, Sport)
  • Finanzen & Karriere (Beruf, Aktien, zweites Standbein)

Was gibt es zu tun?

Du solltest mindestens 25 Minuten pro Tag an deinen Langzeitzielen arbeiten, wenn du einen Vollzeitjob hast. Die Pomodoro Technik kann dir helfen dies zu erreichen. Du startest mit der Erstellung von Brain-Dumps der 5 Gebiete und definierst damit erreichbare Ziele. Danach sortierst du sie nach Wichtigkeit und fängst an an deinen Zielen zu arbeiten.

Wie erstellt man Brain-Dumps?

Schreibe jedes Gebiet des Lebens auf eine separate Seite und schreibe alles nieder was dir zu der Überschrift in denn Sinn kommt. Du solltest versuchen nicht alle Brain-Dumps an einem Tag zu erstellen, weil man in so kurzer Zeit nicht an alles denkt was man im Leben erreichen will. Manchmal kommen einem wichtige Gedanken unterwegs im Bus, auf dem Klo, beim Spazierengehen oder in komplett anderen Situationen. Sollte dir das im Alltag passieren, dann ist es wichtig es zu notieren und dann in die vorhandene Brain-Dump Liste zu übertragen. Für manche Ziele im Leben gehören mehrere Menschen, daher rede einfach mit den Menschen mit denen du Ziele erreichen willst und erstellt zusammen Brain-Dumps.

Ein Brian-Dump kann auch eine Ansammlung von Stichworten sein oder sonstige Begriffe, die dir in den Sinn kommen. An diesem Punkt musst du noch nichts genauer definieren. Lass deinen Gedanken freien Lauf, ohne an Formulierung des Textes oder Umsetzung des Zieles zu denken. Es soll alles raus, egal ob langjähriger Traum oder scheinbar unwichtige Kleinigkeiten.

Hilfe um Brain-Dumps zu produzieren

Wenn du nicht genug Brain-Dumps erzeugst, kannst du die folgenden Fragen als Inspiration lesen. Doch antworte nicht nur mit „ja“ oder „nein“. Gib dir selbst einen Grund warum du „ja“ oder „nein“ gewählt hast und denke darüber nach ob es eines deiner Ziele sein könnte.

Brain-Dump Fragen für Persönlichkeitsentwicklung

  • Willst du die Fähigkeiten verbessern, die du schon hast?
  • Willst du dir neue Fähigkeiten aneignen?
  • Willst du ein Instrument spielen?
  • Willst du eine Fremdsprache lernen?
  • Willst du Kochen lernen?
  • Willst du lernen wie man sich gesund ernährt?
  • Was wolltest du als Kind oder Teenager schon immer mal tun?
  • Was hast du bisher wegen finanziellen Gründen nicht machen können?
  • Wie willst du deine Freizeit gestalten?

Brain-Dump Fragen für Umgebung

  • Willst du etwas in deinem Heim ändern (neuer Fernseher, Möbel, etc.)?
  • Willst du Pflanzen in deiner Wohnung?
  • Sind deine Nachbarn zu laut?
  • Willst du an einen anderen Ort ziehen?
  • Brauchst du mehr Platz für dich?
  • Willst du in einem anderen Land leben?

Brain-Dump Fragen für Soziales Umfeld & Emotionen

  • Willst du einen Kurs besuchen, um andere Leute kennen zulernen?
  • Hast du Freunde, die dich möglicherweise davon abhalten deine Ziele zu erreichen?
  • Hast du nicht viel Kontakt zu deiner Familie und du willst es ändern?
  • Bist du single und du willst nicht mehr alleine sein?
  • Willst du alleine sein, doch keiner gibt dir Ruhe?

Brain-Dump Fragen für Gesundheit

  • Willst du aufhören Süßigkeiten zu essen?
  • Willst du wissen was gute Ernährung ist?
  • Willst du dich jeden Tag gesund ernähren?
  • Willst du anfangen Sport zu machen?
  • Bist du interessiert deiner Seele mit Meditation etwas Gutes zu tun?
  • Du hast einen stressigen Job und brauchst einen sportlichen Ausgleich?

Brain-Dump Fragen für Finanzen/Karriere

  • Brauchst du ein zweites Standbein?
  • Willst du lernen wie man sparsamer wird?
  • Du bist unzufrieden mit deinem Job und du willst asap einen neuen finden?
  • Hast du Probleme mit einem Arbeitskollegen und du willst die Abteilung wechseln?
  • Willst du mehr Geld verdienen?

Aus einem Brain-Dump reelle Ziele mit S.M.A.R.T definieren

Nun müssten dir große Listen zur Verfügung stehen an denen sich deine Ziele grob ablesen lassen. Und jetzt sei smart! Soll heißen, deine Stichwörter und kurze Sätze sind nun Unterüberschriften, formuliere Texte für diese nach dem S.M.A.R.T Prinzip. Ist z.B. deine neue Unterüberschrift „Zeichnen lernen“ im Gebiet „Persönlichkeitsentwicklung“, so sieht der dazugehörige Text nach dem S.M.A.R.T Prinzip so aus: „Bis zum 30. Juli 2017 habe ich einen Zeichenkurs in der Volkshochschule absolviert und habe 3 Bilder gezeichnet“.

S.M.A.R.T kommt aus dem Projektmanagement und bedeutet folgendes:

S = Specific (spezifisch)
M = Measurable (messbar)
A = Achievable (erreichbar)
R = Relevant (brauchbar)
T = Time-oriented (terminiert)

Specific

Sei spezifischer. Als Beispiel: Schreibe nicht „Ich will eine Sprache lernen“. Stattdessen schreib was du willst und was das Ziel ist: „Ich will Italienisch lernen, um einen Kaffee in einer Fremdsprache zu bestellen“ oder falls du höhere Ziele hast „Ich will Italienisch flüssig lernen, nach Italien reisen und eine Italienerin heiraten“.

Wenn du sogar riesige Ziele hast, erstelle Unterziele mit Bullet Points und beschreibe in vollen Sätzen was du erreichen willst. Wenn du ein Haus bauen willst, solltest du anfangen mit Leuten zu reden, die schon eines gebaut haben und andere die dir Geld geben können. Ein möglicher Punkt wäre „Registriere dich in einem Forum, das für Hauseigentümer spezialisiert ist und stelle Anfängerfragen“ und „Geh zur Bank und frag nach einem Finanzplan“. All diese Unterziele sind ein Teil eines riesigen Ziels. Vergesse niemals riesige Ziele in Unterziele zu teilen!

Measurable

Wenn du ein Ziel definierst, dann soll es messbar sein. Wir kennen dieses Kriterium noch aus der Schule. Wenn wir zu einem Fach wie Mathematik zu einem bestimmten Thema wie Geometrie ein Wissen aufgebaut haben, so werden wir mit Klausuren und Tests gemessen. An der Note lässt sich (oft) erkennen ob wir unsere Ziele erreicht haben oder nicht. Für viele reicht es einfach nicht durch zu fallen und andere hingegen wollen die beste Note erreichen.

Ein sehr beliebtes Beispiel ist das Abnehmen. Wer Gewicht abnehmen will, ohne Muskeln zuzulegen, kann sein Fortschritt direkt messen indem er regelmäßig auf die Waage steht. Auch der Faktor Zeit spielt eine Rolle, z.B.: „Ich will 10kg in drei Monaten abnehmen“.

Achievable

Deine Ziele müssen erreichbar sein. Wer sich zum Ziel genommen hat eine Sängerkarriere anzugehen und ein Superstar zu werden, ohne jemals gesungen zu haben, der wird seine Ziele nicht (sofort) erreichen. Sicher ist es möglich ein Superstar zu werden, doch die Ziele müssen in kürzeren Zeitabschnitten erreichbar sein. Es ist stark demotivierend, wenn man innerhalb kürzester Zeit eine Band gegründet und in seiner Stadt erfolgreich ist, man selbst aber denkt nichts erreicht zu haben, weil man noch nicht auf einem Musiksender läuft. Wenn man also seine Ziele wie im folgenden definiert, kann man seine größeren Ziele auch besser erreichen:

▢ Ich gehe für 3 Wochen alle 2 Tage zur Karaokebar, singe mindestens 3 Lieder und lasse mir Feedback geben
▢ Bis Ostern habe ich ein Lied selbst geschrieben und in der Öffentlichkeit gesungen
▢ Bis nächsten Oktober habe ich einen neuen Schlagzeuger für meine Band gefunden

Relevant

Ein Ziel muss für dich brauchbar sein. Wenn es dein Jugendtraum war Fußballer zu werden, du jedoch schon seit Jahren leidenschaftlicher Kickboxer bist oder dich Fußball gar nicht mehr interessiert, dann kannst du das Ziel mit gutem Gewissen wegstreichen. Ein anderes gutes Beispiel sind Nice-to-Haves, die sich als Ziele tarnen. Wenn etwas einfach nur schön wäre zu erreichen, ohne das es für einen selbst einen Mehrwert hat, dann das Ziel streichen oder es weit unten in die Liste einfügen.

Time-oriented

Jedes Ziel muss auch eine Zeitangabe haben. Wie du schon in den obigen Beispielen gesehen hast, kommen zeitliche Bestimmungen vor: „Bis Ostern…“, „… für 3 Wochen…“, etc. Diese Angabe ist eines der wichtigsten, weil diese auch sehr gut aufzeigt, wie schwierig es ist das jeweilige Ziel zu erreichen. Schreibt man z.B. „Bis nächsten Donnerstag will ich meine Küche putzen.“ und „Bis nächsten Juni will ich ein komplettes Haus mit 10 Zimmern putzen.“ so wird schnell klar, dass man eher die Küche putzen will, als ein ganzes Haus.

Um nicht einfach nur die Dinge zu machen, die einfacher zu erreichen sind, werden im Folgenden die Ziele priorisiert.

Was ist wichtig für dich?

Du hast nun mehrere Seiten mit einigen Unterüberschriften pro Gebiet und detaillierten Aufgaben. Lese sie alle nochmal sehr achtsam durch! Konzentriere dich auf die Sachen, die dir wirklich wichtig sind. Sortiere deine Listen nach Priorität und nach Deadline (oben das wichtigste). Wenn du das für alle 5 Gebiete getan hast, musst du dir nun ein Gebiet aussuchen, welches eine hohe Aufmerksamkeit braucht und mit dem du sofort starten willst.

Wenn man mit der Erstellung seiner definierten Ziele fertig ist, so kann es vorkommen, dass man denkt schon etwas erreicht zu haben und legt die Listen für lange Zeit zur Seite. Komme möglichst schnell in die Umsetzungsphase! Selbst wenn es nur die Vorbereitung für den nächsten Tag ist, kann dies schon der Grund sein am nächsten Tag besser mit unbequemen Aufgaben anzufangen.

Sachen ändern sich im Leben

Du hast jeden Tag an deinen Zielen gearbeitet und du kannst stolz darauf sein. Aber du solltest mindestens alle 3 Monate überprüfen ob deine Ziele auf deinen Listen noch immer die Ziele in deinem Leben sind. Wenn man einen digitalen Kalender hat, empfiehlt es sich einen sich wiederholenden Termin einzutragen, um seine Brain-Dumps durchzulesen und ggf. zu bearbeiten. Sachen ändern sich sehr oft im Leben. Sollte es dich schon seit langem quälen an deinen Zielen zu arbeiten, dann überprüfe deine Brain-Dumps und schau ob du nicht doch noch ein Ziel in Unterziele aufteilen musst. Wenn du jedoch seit längerem keinen Spaß mehr entwickeln kannst, dann mache eine längere Pause oder fokussiere dich auf andere Ziele. Vielleicht hast du nur ein kleines Motivationsloch.